Search begins in earnest for the Oil Industrys best Depot and Drivers

6th November 2006
Highlights of the 2006 FPS Annual Conference and Exhibition
The search has started in earnest across the UK and Republic of Ireland to find the best tanker driver and fuel distribution depot by the Federation of Petroleum Suppliers (FPS), as part of their annual awards celebrations.

The 2007 FPS Depot of the Year and FPS-OAMPS Driver of the Year competitions are two prestigious annual awards which set out to celebrate the best in the industry.

The criteria for entering the Driver and Depot of the Year awards is that your company has to be a member of the Federation of Petroleum Suppliers and for the Driver of the Year Award, judges are looking for that driver who not only has an outstanding safety record but has gone that 'extra mile' for customers. Whilst, the winner of the coveted Depot of the Year prize will have to show that they are the leaders in their field, setting the highest of standards or making the biggest improvements in health and safety and other operating procedures.

All depots that have been audited in the last 12 months under the FPS Depot Certification Scheme and have passed, will automatically be entered into the Depot of the Year competition. The Depot Certification Scheme was launched by FPS five years ago and is aimed at helping companies raise their operating standards.

Vanessa Cook, Marketing & Events Manager for the Federation of Petroleum Suppliers (FPS), and organiser of the FPS 2007 Exhibition and Distributor Conference says, “These awards give recognition to both drivers of fuel tankers and staff at fuel depots for their hard work and dedication to meeting the high standards set by the legislative authorities.”

David Barrett, of Driver of the Year award sponsors, OAMPS Limited comments, "Choosing the winner for the Driver of the Year award gets harder each year for the judges and I know more and more people are entering, proving its popularity. It is an award scheme that gives recognition both to hard work, ensuring high safety standards and to making a difference. I am looking forward to presenting the award in 2007."

Applications for the Driver of the Year award can be downloaded from the FPS Website from 1 December 2006 and more information can be found on the FPS 2007 Exhibition and Distributor Conference website.

The winners of both awards will be announced at the FPS 2007 Awards Dinner on 19 April at The International Centre, Telford.

Page 1 of 1

Article Last Updated 6th November 2006
Website design & content, unless otherwise indicated © 2020 Tank Depot. Website framework and database design © UK Websystems.
Developed & hosted by UK Websystems. Access to and use of this website is subject to the Terms and Conditions of Access and Use